Skip to main content

Temporary Scrum Master or switch role of Scrum Master or ...?

Last post 09:45 pm November 30, 2017 by Ian Mitchell
4 replies
07:48 am November 27, 2017

Hi All,

I'm a test consultant that has worked in several organisations that have tried to do Scrum. (it was never perfect)

What I've noticed on 3 occasions is that a long term scrum master becomes a sort 'manager' of the team. With all kinds of consequences: SM becomes frustrated if team doesn't deliver, SM places himself outside of scum team ("I'm happy with the amount of work you delivered"), acts like a manager ("I will not accept that user story"). etc.

So I'l thinking that having an internal, full time person working as scrum master can work, but in my experience I've seen it fail on almost every occasion. It requires a really strong scrum master.

So I'm more inclined to propose either of these suggestions:

1. Scrum master is a consultant hired for a limited time (1 to 2 years) with a clear goal: help us work according to Scrum.

After some time, the team should work good enough that they don't need a fulltime scrum master. If the SM is an payroll person, it becomes more difficult to make this role time-limited.

Hiring a consultant might make it easier to find a really good scrum master. (how do you determine that in an interview?) Disadvantage may be that the consultant requires a bit more time to get to know the organization and team.

2. Scrum master is a rotating role (per sprint?).

This requires of course several persons that can take up the role. It might however work good after suggestion 1. So each sprint one person becomes the scrum master, can be full time or part time, depends on the needs of the team.

What do you think?

Have you noticed these issues also, do you think these are valid solutions?

01:26 am November 28, 2017

Hi Chris,

Yes, you are absolutely right - implementing Scrum DOES require a really strong scrum master. About the 2 points you have mentioned -