Skip to main content

Tackling two teams concurrently

Last post 06:35 am December 7, 2017 by Konstantinos Dikos
6 replies
01:31 pm December 5, 2017

Hello,

I am fairly new at this and I have two scenarios that I would welcome any ideas on.

1. 2 development teams, one SM, one PO and one product.

2. 2 develpoment teams one SM, one PO and two products.

How do you propose the scrum events take place for both scenarios (including releases etc)?

Thanks in advance

Konstantinos

06:52 pm December 5, 2017

It looks like there are two Scrum Teams in both cases, each sharing the same Scrum Master and Product Owner. In the first scenario there may be some integration dependencies between the two teams.

For each Scrum Team in either scenario, do you have any reason to believe that the advice given in the Scrum Guide is inadequate?

06:19 am December 6, 2017

Thanks for your answer Ian.  I cant find a section in the Scrum guide indicating how to manage multiple teams with on SM,  one PO and 2 products.  One thought I have is to have each team perform different sprints one starting Mondy, the other Tuesday so that scrum events can be managed with ease.

04:53 pm December 6, 2017

Can you give more detail on the makeup of the development team?  Would each team have the needed skill sets to take backlog items and turn them into working software inside of a sprint?   

08:29 pm December 6, 2017

1. 2 development teams, one SM, one PO and one product.

2. 2 develpoment teams one SM, one PO and two products.

I'm interested to know why you chose to ask your question this way.

Are you thinking about a particular situation where it is unclear if something should be seen as a whole product, or two separate products?

If so, I think it would make sense to first understand what the product(s) is/are (and whether there are any inter-dependencies).