Skip to main content

Career transition from production support analyst to scrum master

Last post 01:07 pm June 26, 2018 by Juan Prieto
2 replies
07:29 pm June 25, 2018

Hi,

My background is in, IT production support in investment banking. I am very interested in becoming a scrum master, i have, in my excitement, got PSM I certified :). i need to now start updating my resume and start searching for a job as scrum master, but i am not sure how to start, any suggestions on where i can start looking or is there anything else i need to learn. i have however seen Scrum master in action in one of my old projects and aware of how things work practically. 

Hope i was able to clearly explain, pls let me know if you need more clarification.

Thanks,

Vi

07:11 am June 26, 2018

Hi Vijetha,

in my opinion the best opportunity for you is to seek your dream in the company you're recently working for.

01:07 pm June 26, 2018

How would you start a journey? Just begin to walk.

• Get certified (As you are already doing). It will bring you a solid foundation on scrum, however real experience is paramount.
  • Be curious. Never miss a chance to learn something new. Test yourself. Within your company analyze how things are going with regards to agile and start questioning things to yourself, specially those impediments that are assumed as a given and cannot be changed. Can you turn them around?
  • Be alternative. If your company uses the old approach (waterfall, project managing, etc) then provide alternative ways of reaching goals when uncertainty is laid ahead.
  • Take on the role of scrum master even if there is no framework at all. Take the agile approach in your team group and try out things that you see would improve the current workflow.
  • Read. There are a bunch of great books that will surely make you think further and should prove useful as an inspiration.