Skip to main content

Professional Scrum Developer (PSD I) Assessement

Last post 09:22 pm July 18, 2018 by Rami Kaibni
9 replies
04:00 am July 18, 2018

Hello Everyone, 

Earlier this year, I wanted to take the PSD I Assessment but noticed from the Open Scrum Developer exam that many questions are strictly software related so I was hesitant to go ahead because my background is not in IT and my knowledge of the technical terms is just enough. I am not sure if my conclusion was correct or not but maybe you can provide soem insights. 

On the other hand, and while I totally understand that scrum is frequently applied in software, I believe this assessment should be generic (The role of the development team in any project implementing scrum, responsibilities, and so on) just like that of the Scrum Master and Product Owner because scrum can really be applied in any industry either as a framework on its own or as a hybrid with other models depending on the industry and project but with the current setup of the assessment, it makes it strictly, in a way,  IT related. 

What are your thoughts on this ? 

Cheers,

RK

06:30 am July 18, 2018

I'm also interested in hearing what people have to say on this. I had taken the open assessment, expecting (due to my software developer background) that it'd be easy. I actually think there are some additional practices I would need to learn to stand a good chance of passing the real thing, and that hasn't been a high enough priority for me yet.

On the other hand, and while I totally understand that scrum is frequently applied in software, I believe this assessment should be generic (The role of the development team in any project implementing scrum, responsibilities, and so on) just like that of the Scrum Master and Product Owner because scrum can really be applied in any industry