Skip to main content

Story Points and Sprint Duration

Last post 06:31 pm July 31, 2018 by Basem Saadawy
5 replies
08:12 pm July 24, 2018

I am new to agile and confused how would the scrum team pick a number of user stories from the product backlog that fit in the sprint duration while user stories are measured in Story Points (which depends on complexity, uncertainty and effort as I know) and sprint is about time (measured in hours)? I mean story points and hours are different units and as I know there is no direct mapping between them.

In another way is there a direct/indirect relation between story points and hours? If the answer is no, what is the benefit of measuring team velocity in story points?

10:00 pm July 24, 2018

There are a lot of schools of thought on story points. In my opinion, the conversation about "measuring complexity" is unhelpful. I feel it should be a team decision, but if using story points, I would vote that they should be an estimate of relative amount of work for the team to complete the task. I feel most teams are better at estimating relative size than relative complexity, as identified complexity is often mitigated by extra refinement.

However, I see a lot more benefit in liberating teams from just looking at a number of story points to be completed within a sprint. For instance, a team may eventually realise that items above a certain number of points are less likely to be completed, and may look at ways to break them down in to smaller items.

One possible future step may be to abandon story points altogether, and for a team to estimate "yes" or "no" to whether an item can be completed within a certain timeframe (e.g. 3 days)

Once teams apply consistent rules for breaking down items to a smaller size, throughput (total number of items done in a sprint) becomes a very powerful alternative to velocity (total number of points).

04:55 am July 25, 2018