Skip to main content

Failed first attempts!!

Last post 08:48 am August 9, 2018 by Ching-Pei Li
5 replies
01:10 am August 8, 2018

Many people would be here to share the happiness of passing exams with high scores.

But what I would like to share is the happiness of failures.

Because of failures, I know where I need to strengthen my study.

Most of my certifications were passed after a second attempt.

Here are the results of these failed attempts:

• PSD I : 84
  • PSM II : 83.3
  • PAL I : 82.3
  • PSM III : 70

I have had nearly 30 years of development experience, with years of agile development experience. These failed grades are very satisfying to me. Especially for a non-native English speaker, I've been very pleased with myself for having 70 points on the first attempt at PSM III.

On the other hand, I'm curious to know why some people can get 97.5 or even 100 on the first attempt, but ask some very basic or even scrum Guide to find out directly.

For those people, have you ever wondered what you lost while learning about Scrum and passing the certification exam?

01:33 am August 8, 2018

Ching,

Same deal here years of experience but still had to study. I took the PSM 1 in 2 consecutive days and failed both times. I was stunned because I said ahhh I got this but the questions did not register with me. 

I had 6 Scrum Alliance Certs in the past so I thought I knew how to take these tests.

Subsequently I did not make the same mistake with the PSPO or SPS. I am even studying for the Kanban even though I know Kanban very well. 

It could be the way we think our " Experience" may hinder us to some degree. While a newbie or newer person absorbs the scrum guide differently than we do. Maybe their mind is more fresh than ours. As I tout here way too much I look for answers on what really happens in a real work environment.