Skip to main content

Kanban physical board and Jira/VSTS board - Duplication?

Last post 05:02 pm December 17, 2018 by Daniel Wilhite
16 replies
01:24 pm December 3, 2018

Hi guys, I am hoping you can help me. I am new to Agile and I am trying to understand some basic concepts.

Aren't Kanban physical boards and Jira/VSTS online boards a duplication of effort? I mean you need to first open you online tickets and update them online and then you write your stories again on post-it notes and stick them on the physical board. Have I understood the process correctly? Am I missing something? How do mature Agile team do it? What is the correct process? (step by step if possible please!)

Thank you all very much in advance for you help.

05:35 pm December 3, 2018

There can be duplication of effort if you choose for it to be  My organization uses Jira.  We manage our stories in Jira by creating them, tying them to Epics, managing the product backlog, creating a sprint and sprint backlog.  But when it comes tasks, we do all of that on a physical board via post-it notes.  We will transition the story in Jira as it is worked on the physical board. We will print the story cards from Jira and tape them to the board instead of hand writing new cards for each story. We try to split the work managed virtually and physically as much as possible and where it makes sense to do so.

We have found that having the tasks managed on a physical board has some benefits. It is easier to remove or add when using post-it notes.  There is a psychological benefit of moving a physical item through the process and being able to easily view the entire sprint's activity in a single glance. Gathering at a physical board for the Daily Scrum will also make any conversations that need to occur easier.