Skip to main content

New to Scrum, how realistic is the exam?

Last post 08:12 am January 16, 2019 by Athanasios Kataras
7 replies
01:55 am January 13, 2019

Hi, 

I am an ITIL (Info Tech service management) certified professional with 20 years in managing higher ed tech services. I do not manage software teams but would like to take advantage of the benefits scrum would bring in managing IT services and in some of my teaching. I am using Atlassian Jira for project management which follows some scrum framework, but it is all exploration/trial and error.

I'm studying the Guide, taking some courses through udemy (meh), and have read Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time. I'm scoring in the high 90s on the open asssessments, but some of the practice exam questions use terms and concepts I've not been exposed to.

Is certification realistic for someone who has not had formal training or experience? I would like to do this without costing my institution $1K in training.

Any audiobooks out there you'd recommend?

Thanks all.

Stacey

06:44 am January 15, 2019

In my view, most of the questions in the (PSM I) open assessment are not as difficult as those in the (PSM I) exam. Also, imo, you do not need to have prior expertise with Scrum (it surely help a lot if you have, and have been practising it correctly - but if your practice deviated from the guide, you'd have a tough time passing the exam cause your foundation would be wrong).

Finally, I'm of opinion formal training is not required. It is of course very useful, but it's definitely not a prerequisite.

All said, do know the scrum.org certifications are tough/rigurous ones. Which will make your satisfaction even higher once you pass one or more exams. Good luck

07:55 am January 15, 2019

Read and really own the Scrum Guide, read Gunther Verheyen's Scrum - A Pocket Guide a couple of times, Scrum Mastery and I think you're good to go. Thoroughly read the questions on the exam. Good luck!