Skip to main content

Story Points - When to estimate?

Last post 03:35 am May 30, 2019 by Steve Matthew
4 replies
03:49 pm May 27, 2019

Hello world'o Scrum,

I'm a Scrum newbie with more then 15 yrs. conservative project management experience. My name is Kris from Hamburg Germany.

I would appreciate your insight on the subject "at what time in the sprint, sprint planning process, is the estimation of story points best situated" to be effective? I.e. before pulling? Or after placement in the Sprint Backlog?

If estimated once pulled into the sprint Backlog and then estimated by the dev-team, I can't really see how the dev-team would want to match the story points to the Sprint length/duration? I would think the estimation would need to be finished before pulling items in order to assure possible completion in a proper manner and to align with a known velocity. Is that a good approach angle? Please comment.

Thanks a lot!

Cheers

02:38 am May 28, 2019

The Scrum Guide says: “Product Backlog refinement is the act of adding detail, estimates, and order to items in the Product Backlog.”

Does the team have an understanding of how much refinement must be done for upcoming work to be ready for Sprint Planning?

11:58 am May 29, 2019

I would think the estimation would need to be finished before pulling items in order to assure possible completion in a proper manner and to align with a known velocity. Is that a good approach angle?

True, but are you trying to pull in as much points as the velocity during Sprint Planning?

If so, how would you account for emerging work? And changing capacity?

06:16 pm May 29, 2019

The first sprints will help you set the value of "story points". In my project the "story points" represent something close to its difficulty. At the time when we reached 5 sprints it was easier to have the estimate of the story points and hours for each demand. Ensure continuous improvement.

03:35 am May 30, 2019