Skip to main content

Not SM certified, but acting SM for my team - how do I list this on CV/LinkedIn?

Last post 04:48 pm October 3, 2019 by John Varela II
7 replies
11:09 pm October 1, 2019

Hi all,

My team recently lost our Scrum Master to a move outside the company, and I have taken over the acting role. I am a QA/Automation Engineer on the team already, so I am now wearing two hats. I understand this is not the ideal setup, but it's what we are working with. The intention is for me to have official Scrum Master certification in the near future. Until that time, how can I update my CV/LinkedIn with this information, or is it not advised to put until I have been certified?

Kind regards,

Megan

02:12 am October 2, 2019

The intention is for me to have official Scrum Master certification in the near future. Until that time, how can I update my CV/LinkedIn with this information, or is it not advised to put until I have been certified?

@Megan E, What's holding you back, it's after all your LinkedIn/CV? What value do you foresee in updating your profile prior to, or after certification?

03:08 am October 2, 2019

Performing Scrum Master duties is separate, in both real life and on your resume/LinkedIn, to being certified.

Could you add a sentence or a bullet point to both, mentioning your Scrum Master duties?

09:13 am October 2, 2019

If you are working as a Scrum Master, you should definitely add that to however you present your responsibilities and accomplishments. It may not affect your job title, but identifying that you were a Scrum Master for a software development team of N people for so many months is relevant, whether or not you get a certification or pursue full-time positions as a Scrum Master or related coaching roles. If and when you get your certification, you should highlight this as well.