Skip to main content

scrum jobs/volunteer

Last post 03:43 pm September 1, 2022 by Bianca Stratulat
12 replies
11:22 pm November 20, 2019

My background is mainly in financial services (coaching, project management, training etc), I recently got my scrum certification but obviously finding it difficult to find a job as most organisations want a few years of scrum experience which I do not have. But I am prepared to work on a voluntary basis and not get paid to at least get experience in the field. Anyone with suggestions, I would be grateful. I am currently living in Queensland Australia

04:25 pm November 26, 2019

Hello Schults Moyo. 

Congrats on your certification.

Regarding opportunities, I would suggest you to go to Agile meetups and events related to agility. Also, you could try to talk to NGOs that work with software and would be willing to accept your help. There you would be able to help the world, while applying Scrum.

Most importantly, don't give up.

11:33 pm November 26, 2019

Thank you Carlos, I appreciate that...

03:33 am November 27, 2019

I also find that weird... certification does not equate to better understanding of what the team needs... I worked with some scrum masters before and I found that there were some scrum master who do have certifications that are more efficient than those who have (not all, but there are)

02:48 pm November 27, 2019

There is a lot to do here with networking when people have less experience. So if there are no meetups etc,maybe you can organize one. For instance, dive into the Liberating Structures and try to make a (mostly free) meetup to expand your network. That always helps.

04:47 am December 14, 2019

thanks Sandra

06:00 pm December 14, 2019