Skip to main content

Some people in the scrum team think that it's not required to add tasks to a user story

Last post 12:10 am February 26, 2020 by James Noble
17 replies
11:01 pm November 27, 2019

Hi Team,

I have a situation in my scrum team where some teammates are objecting to adding any tasks to a user story and their viewpoint is that since they are responsible enough to finish the story in time than what's the need to have tasks to the story. It's a waste of time and as a developer, I don't like to/want to do it.

I tried my best to explain to him but it's not working out. It's turning to impact everybody in the team. what should be my plan of action in this case. Pls. advise 

09:23 pm November 28, 2019

What benefit do you believe that adding tasks to stories will achieve?

It sounds like the development team have some good reasons for not wanting to add tasks. My previous team added tasks to every story as it was helpful for them. My current team don't add tasks.

Both teams achieved the goal of delivering software at the end of the every Sprint.

12:01 am November 29, 2019

Adding tasks could be helpful as pointed out but not required.

The team should decide how they want their pbi’s. 

Remember as a Scrum Master you should be servant leader to the team.

12:23 am November 29, 2019

Maybe you can start on now all your items but specific items. Discuss the team that it is not required to all but can be useful for items that are estimated to be 3 or 5 days?

12:38 am November 29, 2019

It sounds like your Development Team is self-organizing and if Product Backlog Items selected by them are producing Done increments at the end of the Sprint, you should be comfortable with their decision. They are the ones who have to estimate and do the work so it's not a good idea to bog them down with administrative actions.

06:52 am November 29, 2019

I tried my best to explain to him but it's not working out.