Skip to main content

When I failed as a Scrum Master and gave up

Last post 04:15 pm January 31, 2020 by Timothy Baffa
9 replies
11:18 am January 28, 2020

Hello everyone !

I've been a Scrum Master for a luxury company for 1 year now. Before that, I was a Project Manager, then Scrum Master, then Agile coach as a freelance, and for the first time as a Scrum Master I completely gave up at my role, and I dislike myself for it.

In the company I started to accompany and coach for Scrum, we were in a classic waterfall, with a PMO which only wanted vanity data and KPIs to pilot his project. As a Scrum Master, I tried to accompany him by teaching him empyricism. He refused everytime, and I never knew why.

I got a Product Manager, who I tried to coach into her role, but she refused to change her way of micro-managing teams. When I understood that, I tried to protect the dev team, the Product Owner, but she used her authority to destroy the team and make them split. The product owner, with some courage, told the management it was a bad call. He was fired some days after that.

That's when I understood that this company cannot be saved. I shouldn't have "tried" to save it. They do not want anything close to Agile, even though they tell it to developers they want to recruit. I gave up, for the first time.

When you get recruited by managers who want change, but the top management do not want it, what are your possibilities ? I'm at a loss here if I'm in the same situation again and again.

06:29 pm January 28, 2020

It sounds like leadership was not ready or willing to sponsor something like Scrum within their organization despite hiring for the position. There may have been nothing you could do in this regard. 

I'm going to use a quote from @Ian Mitchell from a blog he wrote around agile-pmo that I quite like in regards to the possibilities... https://www.scrum.org/resources/blog/agile-pmo