Skip to main content

One man team

Last post 03:26 pm April 23, 2020 by Ratnakumar Umavenkata Lekkala
5 replies
05:13 pm April 13, 2020

Hi All,

I’ve worked in two jobs my entire life and I’m now 40 years of age. Both jobs have been me working as the IT guy In two small companies. Roles included managing severs on a basic level, building designing / testing Wordpress website for the company, implementing new ideas and working with developers in India to have my designs or projects completed to my requirements. Prior to that it was multimedia which involved video editing / dvd / blu Ray authoring which now is out dated.  

Both jobs I’ve worked solo so I’ve self taught myself  and never had any formal training or qualification but managed to make a decent income. My issue now is I want to become a more skilled person and be able to earn more. I’ve been told to look at scrum for certificates but having looked it all I have no idea where I would fit in.  I don’t know how to code as it’s never been a requirement I can design but never worked with skilled ux designers so I can’t call myself a ux designer.

At this stage of my career I don’t want to study and pay ££ for a degree, learning how to code at 40 is something which will take me 5 years + and I would end up earning less than I am now. I feel I am great at working with product owners and then communicating with developers to deliver requirements so with that in mind can anybody suggest a new career path I could follow and gain more skills. 

06:51 am April 14, 2020

Hi Peter, 

I was in a similar situation, but coming from a completely different industry to IT. The way I went was to do my PSM 1 certification and then to look for an internship where I could learn on the job and get hands on work experience. It worked for me, and I have been pushing to make this more wide spread, but it doesn't seem to have been getting much traction outside of people who are looking to be Scrum Masters.