Skip to main content

Multiple definitions of done within the same team

Last post 08:53 am May 23, 2020 by Joshua Partogi
5 replies
05:16 pm May 11, 2020

Hello!

I'm new to a team.

In this development team (of 12 people) , there are many different skillsets. Dev, UX, BA, Solution designers, QA.

PBIs exist in the backlog, split by discipline. UX tickets for UX, BA tickets for the BA etc.

Sprint goals tend to exist based on individual delivery of sprint backlog items from the respective disciplines (i.e. it's rare for the separate disciplines to work together on the sprint goal within one sprint, rather the sprint goal tends to be focussed on working software, which will have been as a result of all the disciplines working on an item at some point, but over the course of multiple sprints)

There is only one documented definition of done.

All disciplines add story points as part of refinement and planning in order to inform sprint planning activities. These story points are used by the PO in order to forecast when items are likely to move to done. The PO states this is a way of working that the team has ended up at due to the need to provide accurate forecasts. (There is no evidence to support that the dev team has actively pursued this way of working).  

My perspective

In this team - we essentially have only a subset of the dev team capable of taking a PBI from "Ready" to "Done" within the sprint (That is to say devs and QAs).

All other disciplines are engaged in the process of ensuring that a PBI is "Ready", and rarely assist or contribute towards the process of moving an SBI to done, or contribute towards the sprint goal.  This means that in effect, there are actually 4 definitions of done in the team, although these are not documented.