Skip to main content

13 pointer story

Last post 11:46 am May 18, 2020 by Harshal Rathee
5 replies
09:04 am May 15, 2020

Hi All,

My Jira board often holds stories that are worth 13 pointers. if my board has 10 stories, 5 of them will be 13 pointers each. When we ask them to break it further, they say, they can break it but the QA won't be able to test them individually hence no point as it will then defeat the DOD. 

Also, if they happen to break it, they raise a PR so that the team can review the code written, then as well they cant move the tasks since a PR can be raised when the entire 13 pointer work is completed. I am not that technically sound to tell them the division myself hence always find myself giving into the situation a lot more than often.

P.s - Yes, we have a separate QA. and that's how it is. 

09:18 am May 15, 2020

When we ask them to break it further, they say, they can break it but the QA won't be able to test them individually

Then let's leave the "separate QA" out of the picture for the moment. If the team can break the item down, how would they test it themselves during development, so they are satisfied that it works correctly?

10:46 am May 15, 2020

What is stopping the organization to have at least 1 person with QA skills in the Scrum Team?

02:32 pm May 15, 2020

What is the role of the separate QA in this environment? If the role is to ensure that the system is stable and reliable from an end-user perspective, then I would argue that they don't need to necessarily test every single change. Some changes may not be visible to an end-user. In cases like this, the regression testing of functionality and performance is sufficient to accomplish the purpose of QA to ensure that stability and reliability won't be compromised.