Skip to main content

As SM, my manager wants more control from me.

Last post 07:11 am July 15, 2020 by Sander Dur
5 replies
08:19 pm July 13, 2020

I work as a SM of a SCRUM team for 1 1/2 years. We are a feature developer team in a large SAFelE project, which is quite chaotic (delays are usual in major releases, global KPIs are freqently  not met etc.), but our team has some motivated and talented devs, so we are consistently in the top 20-30% (as far as local KPIs tell) when we compare team effectiveness. Since the beginnings, I always encouraged the team to be proactive, autonomous (wrt. to planning for example). Therefore, the team is mostly autonomous, organized, (rarely need my action to get something done). Yet my immediate manager increasingly pressurizes me to "take control in the operative tasks", actively work in the sprint plannings etc. This seems to contradict my philosophy, since I always strived to create a team that can self-organize and proactively solve its problems. Do I see it wrong? What should I do to persuade my manager to see the state of the my team as something to be proud of (autonomy, self-consciousness).

05:38 pm July 14, 2020

Why do *you* need a manager? What strange forces are at work here?

07:16 pm July 14, 2020

Steven, I want to be clear. There is nothing in Scrum that prevents an organization having extra accountabilities, job titles, or processes. But equally, I read a lot of things in your original post that sound like red flags I've encountered with other people who are using Scrum in name only.

To benefit from Scrum, you need to be in a position to adapt, and that can mean removing old assumed norms and structures from a more traditional organization.

My advice to you — even if you just do it privately — would be to read the Scrum Guide, then comb through your post, and see how many things you can identify that you have described, but are not a part of Scrum.