Skip to main content

One Team Or Two Teams?

Last post 03:30 pm August 2, 2020 by Simon Mayer
6 replies
10:53 pm July 30, 2020

I am dealing with some of my client organizations and my students in post-secondary that are finding one aspect of the Scrum Guide confusing. Over the years, both Jeff and Ken have always emphasized the fact that Scrum has one team with 3 different roles. However, The Scrum Guide references 2 teams; the Scrum Team and the Development Team.

That has confused a number of my clients. As a consultant, I am dealing with one organization that is suffering because they insist that they have 2 teams which over time has gotten out of sync. One statement made, “Let’s not include the Scrum Master in this discussion because she is not a developer.” This troubles me because we are no longer a team.

I have to emphasize that we have only one team with 3 roles, The Scrum Master, The Product Owner, and the rest of the team. Why, when the Scrum Guide insists that there are no sub-teams, we see there is a Development Sub-team that does not include the Scrum Master or the Product Owner. Already we are creating silos, are we not?

Just my perspective, and to be honest I have to tell my clients and my students, as I am also a professor teaching Agile in the Post Secondary arena, that there is only one team, unencumbered with the silo mentality. One organization refused to go with Scrum because of this written in the Scrum Guide. I told them to interpret that portion as only one team, and now they are successful. They do not differentiate between the Scrum Team and the Development Team, as this was creating division. What are the thoughts on this?

05:59 pm July 31, 2020

The Scrum Guide references 2 teams; the Scrum Team and the Development Team.