Skip to main content

Any Advice for New Scrum Master Joining in New Team

Last post 04:39 am November 25, 2020 by Jonathan Howell
11 replies
09:07 am August 12, 2020

Hello All,

If I am new to already existing team I can know the history and also know the maturity level of the team.

But in my current situation I am going to join in a new project and where the team is also totally new,

Can any one adive me tips to engage with them or setps should I take before I start steering them on agile,

Thanks & Reagrds

09:18 am August 12, 2020

What I personally typically do, is just to listen the first week or two. Write things down that you feel are worthy of it, don't directly start coaching or teaching or whatever from the get-go. Feel the dynamics, read the room, talk to people individually, ask them question. Figure out what they're trying to achieve,  take a look into the way they develop the product and so on. Start working from there:)

11:21 am August 12, 2020

In addition to what Sander said...there's a Sprint Retrospective you can do with your team, called Build Your Own Scrum Master (BYOSM). You can google it to find out how to facilitate it.

Essentially you draw a Scrum Master with a brain, heart and stomach. Then you ask your team questions, in three phases, about what a Scrum Master needs to have in their brain, their heart, and their stomach. The questions are something like:

• What skills and traits does your Scrum Master need to be effective for our team?
  • What does your Scrum Master need to know about our you to help our team succeed?
  • How can you help and support your Scrum Master to do a great job?

Be curious!

12:20 pm August 12, 2020