Skip to main content

Unrealistic assumption?

Last post 05:51 pm April 6, 2021 by Alireza Goftari
12 replies
04:30 pm February 21, 2021

Hi eveyone,

I am a newbie to SCRUM. I have heard a statement saying that there is an unrealistic assumption in SCRUM which has made this framework.methodology unable to success. Could anyone guide me on what this could possibly mean? what assumption is thought and declared to be unrealistic?

06:20 pm February 21, 2021

The exact statement mentioned in the software engineering course is like this:

Agile methods are not mature enough:

Unrealistic assumptions (e.g. Scrum)

Lack of scalability (All, more or less)

Lack of a specific, unambiguous process (e.g. XP, Crystal)

Actually the slides are dated as the references are:

- Webster, S.,  “On the evolution of OO methods”,  Bournemouth University, 1996.

- Graham, I., Object-oriented Methods: Principles and Practice (3rd Edition), Addison-Wesley, 2001.

- Abrahamsson, P., Warsta, J., Siponen, M. T., Ronkainen, J., “New Directions on Agile Methods: a comparative analysis”, Proceedings of the International Conference on Software Engineering – ACM/ICSE 2003, 2003, pp. 244-254.

06:24 pm February 21, 2021

Scrum is very good at highlighting organizational impediments to agile practice. Sometimes the evident need for deep and pervasive change is held to be unrealistic.

06:40 pm February 21, 2021

Could we say that the unrealistic assumptions are thinking of constant refactoring as an effective way for code production and that the technical dept can be payed in the future?

reference: https://effectivesoftwaredesign.com/2014/03/17/the-end-of-agile-death-b…

07:13 pm February 21, 2021