Skip to main content

Starting new journey as SM

Last post 02:50 pm May 24, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
3 replies
04:32 pm May 23, 2021

Hey Folks!

I have been working in Scrum projects for the last 7-8 years as Software Engineer, then few years on the Team Lead role. I have no experience as a pure Scrum Master, but I have worked directly with many SMs being on Associate/Lead role. 

My concern is that having a good career interest on the SM role, I prepared for it from internet resources/forums/videos and faked my SM experience of 2 years to get the desired role. 

Now I succeeded in getting a SM job. 

First, is it legit what I did to get the job? I know it's not right, but without faking it's not possible to get the job here, and the current organization is not giving me the desired opportunity. Second, what recommendations are there for me to grow further on the role? Please assist.

04:55 am May 24, 2021

having a good career interest on the SM role

Why are you interested in having a career as a Scrum Master? What do you believe the role involves which you find appealing?

12:03 pm May 24, 2021

Why are you interested in having a career as a Scrum Master? What do you believe the role involves which you find appealing?

I love the way Agile works in the industry and the flexibility, mindset, respect and culture it promotes in our lives; unlike the things that work in traditional project management environment. As SM, I can apply Agile/Scrum principles to the working environment around me.

02:50 pm May 24, 2021

I prepared for it from internet resources/forums/videos and faked my SM experience of 2 years to get the desired role.