Skip to main content

Scrum : Not Allowed on Scrum and Mandatory but Allowed List

Last post 09:15 pm June 7, 2021 by Chuck Suscheck
5 replies
08:38 pm June 3, 2021

Hi Scrum Community !

I've been working as a PM for over 10 years and finally decided now to get  my PSM I this.

Would you mind to correct me or even suggest items for this list :

NOT ALLOWED IN SCRUM:

====================

- HARDENING SPRINTS

- INTEGRATION SPRINTS

- RELEASE SPRINTS

- SPRINT ZERO

- Project Managers

NOT MANDATORY BUT ALLOWED:

=========================

- User stories,

- Story points

- Planning Poker

- Refactoring

- Burn-down/up chart

- Cone of Uncertainty

- Technical Debt

- Pair programming

- Release planning

- Code reviews

- Product roadmap

Thank you !

03:01 pm June 5, 2021

What is your reasoning behind why such things are either allowed or not allowed?

11:58 am June 6, 2021

All of the items listed are not part of Scrum. The items in your first list, with the exception of project managers, generally do more harm than good and are considered anti-patterns. In other words, anything that impacts empiricism or self-management might appear there. 

Items that could be added to the first list include (in addition to what you noted) "definition of ready", design sprints, stand-ups, and demos.

A project manager could exist in an organization and be helpful to a Scrum Team, even though that isn't listed as one of the three Scrum accountabilities. Helping a Product Owner with budgets might be a healthy example. Then again a Scrum Master in name only, disguised and acting as a project manager, might do a lot of harm.