Skip to main content

A group of mostly junior developers

Last post 08:41 pm June 15, 2021 by Daniel Wilhite
2 replies
05:59 pm June 14, 2021

Hi Everyone, 

I am curious about your thoughts about this. I am currently a Scrum Master / Coach to one development team. Soon to be two. I have been a Coach/Scrum master for many years and have learned a lot, but of course there is always more to learn as one thing I have learned is " No two companies are the same and no two development teams are the same"  What works for one does not neccessarly work for the other. 

My current setup is this 1 Senior Dev/Architect , 3 Junior Devs and 1 intermediat.  we are doing scrum and I puroposly did not fully enforce the process in order not to turn the juniors off.

The junior ones are so eager to develop that they forget to do things properly. The Senior dev was overloaded helping them all over the place , so I decided to hold off with enforcing fully processes etc.. 

Now I see some of the things that are back firing, like communication. Outside of the daily, non exsistant.  I had to do a quick session before the daily to explain to them the importance of Transparency in scrum, and why using the team chat is so important. (I even had to explain to them that it is so important to accept meeting invitations :) ) . 

I have to admit , two things that I am puzzeled by:  1- Home office and lack of communication which directly effects 2- Junior developers and how to get them stay motivated and at the same stay connected . 

and the icing on the cake is that the environment is a German Speaking one which makes it a bit of challenge understanding everything :)