Skip to main content

Technical documentation/translation in Scrum

Last post 02:12 am July 31, 2013 by Gina Ketelaars
6 replies
02:21 am July 25, 2013

Hi all,

A short introduction
I work as a technical writer at a company with quite a few development teams (I believe the current count is 16). All these teams work with Scrum. Because of this, the releases are done on an almost daily basis. Until recently, the writers were part of the teams, but the documentation team grew along with the company and we became our own scrum team. This means we have our own sprint, but keep the release dates of the functionalities in mind to make sure we don't become the impediment (it's a challenge). We also have our own scrum board and process, as well as a definition of done.

So my questions are:
Do others work this way?
And, if so, how exactly do you integrate documentation into the release cycles of all the teams?

Then translation:
How is translation integrated into your process?
Is it part of your definition of done?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Gina Ketelaars

05:00 am July 25, 2013

Hi Gina

There are 3 roles in Scrum - Product Owner, Scrum Master, and Development Team. There is no express recognition of a Technical Writer role, or for that matter other common roles such as Business Analyst or Tester, and there are no role specializations within the Development Team - there are only developers.

The way a Scrum Team handles documentation is therefore up to them. There might be a Product Backlog Item for producing documentation, for example, and the Development Team would bring it into a Sprint Backlog and work on it at some point. Alternatively the production of documentation might be included in the Definition of Done, if that documentation is needed for each increment to be considered potentially releasable.