Skip to main content

What if team doesn't self organise?

Last post 05:40 pm June 22, 2022 by Chuck Suscheck
8 replies
06:54 pm June 3, 2022

Hi,

I've been working in software development with scrum for almost 10 years. 5 last years in SAFe. Certainly not religiously. 

I'd like to present situation and would love to hear from agile evangelist how this could be resolved.

Product that is over 5 years old, is a big pile of mess at this moment, most seniors already quit, most of people are juniors. One senior and one mid don't differ much from the rest in terms of commitment and engagement. They form two teams and both of those teams are completely disorganized. They continue to create mess and bugs. Even when presented with the opportunity to start changing things, even if upper management starts to give them green light to start fixing things they don't do anything to change this situation. Even if you grab them and tell them - let's do X, let's with towards that, it's going to make things better, they'll listen, say ok and you'll see zero engagement. 

What now? How do we fix this? How do we enable them? 

Not that I'm thinking about it, but nothing radical like replacing them with new seniors is possible as I really don't think with the codebase that we have, seniors would stay with us for too long. I think most senior people would run away quite quickly. We've actually got few new more senior hires, but they're still in the process of learning everything and they're already scared.