Skip to main content

Scrum for Medical Device Software

Last post 06:42 am November 19, 2015 by Blake Valle
3 replies
09:42 pm July 29, 2014

Many years ago my colleagues and I at Medtronic blazed the trail for using Agile (Scrum + XP + whatever) in the medical device software world. It seems that world has not travelled as far down the Scrum road as other industries, but as a new consultant/trainer, I am not yet connected to the broader Scrum community. Do you experienced Scrum professionals come across medical device companies that are exploring Agile? What impressions do you get about the readiness and willingness of that world to embrace Scrum/Agile?

05:23 am July 30, 2014

It was a failed Scrum-but implementation in exactly this industry that encouraged me to become a Scrum Master in 2004.

At the time I was a developer working on a new patient monitoring device (ECG, blood oxygenation, brainwave). We had a technical lead who held daily standups sitting around a table. We had no backlog and no Sprint Planning sessions. If there were Reviews or Retrospectives, developers such as myself were certainly not invited.

We had no Product Owner apart from a senior executive who was notionally responsible for project outcomes. Weak product ownership impeded delivery as there was no scope management or expression of pull. We wrote our own requirements.

It was explained to me that the market for these devices was cyclical, in that hospitals only had budgets for such purchases every 4 years or so. Releases were arranged to this cadence and subject matter experts were lost to the engineering firm over the two or three years of project slack. By the time I was there it had fallen well below the critical mass needed to facilitate production. There were simply not enough stakeholders of the right caliber to own backlogs, to populate and order them, or to explain product scope.