Skip to main content

Strategies for monitoring Sprint Progress

Last post 04:02 am August 14, 2014 by Anke Maerz
8 replies
04:29 am August 13, 2014

Hi all,

working through the Scrum Guide as a Scrum Newbie, I have a question concerning monitoring the Sprint Progress.

The Scrum Guide says, "Scrum does not consider the time spent working on Sprint Backlog Items. The work remaining and date are the only variables of interest. "

So, if the Development Team is not to consider the time spent working on Sprint Backlog Items - what practices can they reasonably use in order to project the likelihood of achieving the Sprint Goal?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

11:23 am August 13, 2014

The Dev Team estimates only the remaining work.
The estimated remaining work is not a basic "remaining of yesterday - 1".
Remaining work can grow, but of course it generally should go down.

01:23 am August 14, 2014

I agree on that - but for estimating the remaining work it would surely be helpful to consider the time already spent working on former items?
Or which strategies would you recommend to elicit an estimate for the remaining work?

01:47 am August 14, 2014

Refinement isn't considered but its BP to do it across the sprint.
Burndown is work remaining if you want to track ,also not mandatory in scrum but BP.
Burnup is work completed if you want to track, also not mandatory in scrum but BP.
How you estimate that work in the first place is up to the team, calories you burn, T shirts that get smaller,
points that reduce, hours that get less, what ever method the team choose.
As to who does this, it can be anyone as the team is responsible to do it daily and it should be visible.
Its a guide to where you are and how your doing against the goal in that sprint.

02:09 am August 14, 2014

Posted By michael on 14 Aug 2014 01:47 AM

[...] How you estimate that work in the first place is up to the team, calories you burn, T shirts that get smaller, [...]