Skip to main content

Scrum vs Kanban

Last post 03:48 pm July 10, 2022 by Martin Gradzki
5 replies
10:34 am July 1, 2022

Hello,

I am a Scrum Master Intern (so I am sorry for any silly question). Because I want to cover multiple curiosities, I will numerotate the questions for simplicity of answering.

1)I wonder when do you choose Scrum over Kanban?

2)This curiosity started after seeing new teams of 2-3 members adopting a custom Scrum instead of Kanban. Is Kanban "that" inferior?

3) Also I believe that Kanban would be better for teams working on continous updates / improvements / maintenance of software products. Am I very further away from the truth?

4) Do you have any empiric studies that shows how a Scrum team got better results than when it was Kanban or viceversa?

Thank you for your time and I appreciate any input.

With respect,

Marius Batir

04:57 pm July 1, 2022

Don't fall into the trap of making a false choice. Rather think in terms of managing complexity (Scrum) and managing predictability and flow (Kanban). A team may well need to do both.

02:54 pm July 2, 2022

Hi @Marius!

May I recommend a resource for you?

Kanban and Scrum Together

Download the official Kanban Guide for Scrum Teams.

It's available on this site, scrum. org:

https://www.scrum.org/resources/kanban-guide-scrum-teams

Kanban vs Scrum

"Kanban is a strategy for optimizing flow. The practices in the Kanban Guide for Scrum Teams help enhance and complement the Scrum framework and its implementation"

Check it out, and as @Ian says, learn how to use Scrum to manage complexity, and use Kanban to manage flow!

11:25 pm July 2, 2022