Skip to main content

Role clarification - Which role performs detailed technical system flows in a multi-team effort?

Last post 01:58 pm August 26, 2022 by Chuck Suscheck
4 replies
02:31 pm August 25, 2022

Hi all,

I am a program manager and just onboarded onto a ServiceNow implementation project that involves multiple development teams.  The development teams are aligned to the system that they support 

The teams are transitioning to agile approach.  I would rate their current agile adoption status as "hybrid agile" model using the nicest terms.  They've adopted some of the ceremonies and "procedures" of agile but still struggle with the philosophy. 

ServiceNow acts the "front-end" and the other systems are all back-end integrations.  Many of our stories require detailed technical system flows to show the interactions between the systems.  In our current model, the ServiceNow Product Owner is expected to provide the detailed technical flows as part of their story building. 

The problem is this is causing a chokepoint on our SN product owners.  They are overburdened and creating a bottleneck. On top of gathering business requirements, building feature roadmap and aligning with leadership, they are also expected to do these very time consuming detailed system flows and collaborating with the product managers and engineers of the backend systems.

In this situation, is the product owner of the front-end system the appropriate role to perform these system flows?  If not, who should perform the detailed technical specs in a multi-team model?  

Any advice or information is appreciated. 

Young

08:34 pm August 25, 2022

Is it actually possible to obtain detailed technical specifications which you can then have confidence in?