Skip to main content

Frequently Sprint scope changes

Last post 03:17 pm September 15, 2022 by Chuck Suscheck
5 replies
01:51 pm September 8, 2022

Hello,

I am a beginner Product owner and I am facing a problem with sprint scope that always changes with new client demands or new hotfix, so it becomes difficult for me to reprioritize and retrieve the most minor JIRA tickets, and it also bothers the development team.

So have you any process to apply when facing this type of situation?

05:09 pm September 8, 2022

Do you have a vision for the Product and a clear understanding of the value you need to maximize?

06:20 pm September 8, 2022

The scope - the body of work selected for the Sprint - is not fixed. The commitment that the team makes is not to the body of work, but to the Sprint Goal. As long as the Sprint Goal remains intact and achievable, the team may choose to change the body of work for the Sprint.

If the team is performing support work that may come up during the Sprint, they should consider the likelihood of having to take on this unplanned work during Sprint Planning and adjust their Sprint Goal accordingly. If the unplanned work doesn't materialize, there's always a Product Backlog of refined work that the team can choose from, in addition to being able to dedicate time to building skills or improving the tools and processes used by the team.

06:44 pm September 8, 2022

A primary responsibility of the Product Owner is to maximize the value being delivered by the team every sprint.

• Do you believe frequent additions to sprint scope help or hurt the team's ability to deliver value? 
  • Does the team have a say in whether the new customer request can be accommodated in the current sprint, or what might need to be shelved to make room for it?   
  • Does accommodating the new request jeopardize the Sprint Goal?

07:53 pm September 8, 2022

sprint scope that always changes with new client demands or new hotfix