Skip to main content

Who should facilitate meetings with external traditional teams?

Last post 06:39 pm October 11, 2022 by Anos Nymus
6 replies
02:59 pm October 7, 2022

I work as a SM in a team following self organization principles. 

Unfortunately as we don't live in an ideal world, there is a system, maintained by a traditional team, that provides us data that we depend upon.

That said, from time to time it's required alignment meetings, not only from a business perspective but also technical, from our Scrum Team and that traditional team.

The question is, who should organize those sessions? I'm inclined to say that it should be the scrum team members since they are self-organized, but again, that other team really follows traditional guidelines so developers are not really empowered if they facilitate and participate my themselves, or if the PO or the SM should lead on these cases.

03:08 pm October 7, 2022

Why do you need another alignment meeting? It seems like the "traditional team" that is maintaining the external system is a key stakeholder of the work done by the Scrum Team. Because of that, they should be invited to participate in the Scrum Team's Sprint Review. This would be a good opportunity for the teams to synchronize and align on their next steps.

If you do need additional opportunities for the members of the two teams to get together, what would you expect from a facilitator? Other instances of communication could just be the right people on the Scrum Team talking to members of the other team, but the people involved would vary depend on what was being discussed. Ad-hoc and just-in-time communication can be helpful and may not need much facilitation.

03:25 pm October 7, 2022

developers are not really empowered if they facilitate and participate my themselves