Skip to main content

Backlog refinement meeting

Last post 08:32 pm February 24, 2017 by Sergiy Pshenychnyy
15 replies
05:14 am November 24, 2015

Hi,

Is there any timebox for the backlog refinement meeting?

Thank you

05:18 am November 24, 2015

This is a part of Sprint which takes no more that 10% of Sprint's time

05:25 am November 24, 2015

Thank you.

08:25 am November 24, 2015

Product Backlog Refinement is an ongoing activity, and unless it is being conducted at scale it is not a time-boxed event. However, there is nothing to stop teams from time-boxing each refinement session anyway. In general it is good practice to use time-boxing.

06:12 am November 25, 2015

Thanks.

11:59 pm March 20, 2016

Hi all,
I'm new in PSM and have a naive question, plz help me to clarify if possible. Thanks

I have a concern, " no more that 10% of Sprint's time", does that mean that if a sprint 2 weeks (10 working days), we shouldn't spend more than 10% x 10 days = 1day for Refinement meeting?

Thanks,
Vinh

05:23 pm March 21, 2016

Keep in mind, the 10% is a guideline in the Scrum Guide:

"Refinement usually consumes no more than 10% of the capacity of the Development Team."

From my experience, refinement sessions usually consume 5-10% of the sprint length.

If your sprint length is 2 weeks, your team should be working with your product owner to refine future stories anywhere from 4-8 hours per sprint, split up among as many refinement sessions as needed.

05:37 pm March 21, 2016

Hi All,

I am new to Scrum as well and was a little confused by the response. Is backlog refinement albeit of future user stories etc) part of the previous sprint or is it a separate event outside of the sprint with a recommended guideline of not using more than 10% of dev team's bandwidth for this ?

Thanks,

09:20 am March 22, 2016

It is a current sprint effort for the team and the Product Owner to groom stories for future sprints (meet Definition of Ready).

09:37 am March 26, 2016