Skip to main content

Project Deliverables in Scrum/ Relation to other approaches

Last post 07:15 am April 4, 2016 by Ian Mitchell
4 replies
06:53 am April 1, 2016

Hello,

im relatively new to scrum. I'm about to conduct a Project wherin a ERP Software component will be implemented. Can i use Scrum for this type of Project? It's not real Software development, its more configuration, customization, a bit programming. The Project has also deliver specific documents.

I want to use Scrum since i have a fix time Frame but my scope is just 60% "must have". I also like the thought of not having hard phases (for example we want to work on specific Features first).

But yes, its not real Software development and the documents also have to be created - but i have the Feeling that i cant maintain the documents in the product backlog? Since its often disribed as a list of all Features.

The last year i have worked a lot with PMBOK and PRINCE2. I'm currently a bit confused about Relations.

Hope you understood what my Problem is, or how i think - if not just ask!

Thank you!

11:24 am April 2, 2016

- Have you read the values and principles defined in the agile manifesto? Do you think if you and the team would be able to adhere to most, if not all, of those values and principles?

- Have you read the Scrum guide? Do you think you can implement the events and follow the rules as defined by the framework?

- Are other iterative and incremental approaches like RUP a better fit for your work?

Most teams, even those that do complex product development, usually end up adopting only the easiest parts of the Scrum framework in the absence of org. support, proper coaching and mentoring and an effective PM/SM.

These are some of the questions/factors I will consider before deciding on the approach that's fit for the project at hand.

10:44 am April 3, 2016