Skip to main content

Artificial intelligence in requirements engineering

Last post 11:32 am August 14, 2023 by Kenneth Fallesen Jørgensen
9 replies
09:43 am August 10, 2023

Hi, I work in a software company that has been living Scrum for a long time in different DevOps environments, mostly Azure DevOps. My role is that of a PO.

We are increasingly asking ourselves how we can bring artificial intelligence into the requirement engineering processes.

Can anyone here report from experience? I would also be interested to know which tools have been used to good effect and where risks have perhaps also been identified.

05:07 pm August 10, 2023

We are increasingly asking ourselves how we can bring artificial intelligence into the requirement engineering processes.

I have no experience with this but I would like to ask why you feel artificial intelligence would be better than actual conversations with the people asking for something to be built? What is it that you expect will improve by doing this?  Especially since todays "artificial intelligence" is not actually intelligent. It is data analysis.  Intelligence is the ability to learn and apply abstract thinking to finding solutions.  Computers do not have that ability. Humans do. 

05:38 pm August 10, 2023

In Scrum, requirements engineering is an empirical process through which experiments are conducted in the real world. Validated learning is the intelligent thing to do, and the less artificial it is the better.

11:13 pm August 10, 2023

My 2 pennies worth…AI is something my organisation, as I’m sure many others, is exploring.  We will only know whether AI can contribute to the Scrum framework if we all experiment and make transparent our findings. This is quite an exciting time.