Skip to main content

Agile and Scrum classic

Last post 07:12 pm September 29, 2023 by Nicholas Gabrichidze
10 replies
07:50 pm September 27, 2023

I am currently acting as so called "Agile coach"(in fact consultant) for a firm where I worked as a Scrum master for 7 years, while looking for a new mission: here is a story which was shared with me by both developers and SM asking for advice... After some thinking I came to the conclusion that this episode is as Agile and as Scrum as it can be...

In short: developer was writing a code and got a bug-he signalled for assistance and also flagged the issue, but instead of writing ticket in the Jira went on coding. Bug was solved by improvised pair programming session before the end of the day, but no ticket was written on Jira about dependence...

PO, who is zealot about administrative formalities, was enraged that no Jira ticket was written. In one-to-one with Scrum master developer said that his mind was in the "zone" so he coud finish the code, besides context switching to Jira might have cause technical debt.

Scrum master suggested to discuss the issue at the Retrospective, asking PO not to spread it any further(to HR, project manager etc) before that.

At retrospective, PO demanded some sort action and sanctions to ensure that discipline, "for a sake of stakeholders" would be established in the team. Meanwhile some other team members expressed frustration with Jira, which as we all know is now an organizational requirement in most Scrum settings

What you would do if you would be a Scrum master of this team?

I can share my advice and opinion later...

08:44 pm September 27, 2023

Hi Nicholas,