Skip to main content

IS the certfication "Scrum Developer Professional" is intended only for software developers ?

Last post 08:43 pm October 12, 2023 by David Sabine
2 replies
01:37 pm October 3, 2023

Hello everyone,

I'm a data engineer, and I'm interested in obtaining the Scrum Developer Professional certification. I have prepared for the exam, but while reviewing the material, I noticed that there are questions related to software development, which I don't have much experience with. I'm wondering if this certification is primarily intended for software developers. If it's not, could you please clarify why there are questions about software development? Alternatively, could this be a mistake, and the exam focus solely on Scrum concepts?

Thank you in advance for your responses.

Best regards,

09:03 am October 5, 2023

The certification is shortened to Professional Scrum Developer, but it is about Applying Professional Scrum for Software Development covering a broad range of software development topics and techniques...

You also have demonstrated your knowledge of self-managed development, design and architecture, documentation, programming, quality, testing, forecasting and release planning, and product value as you apply Scrum to deliver valuable software products.

The associate course name includes Software in the title, making it a bit clearer: Applying Professional Scrum for Software Development

Is it only intended for software developers? I did it as a Scrum Master to enhance my knowledge of software development practices to help serve teams. I do have a programming background which helped, but my accountability when doing it wasn't developer. I found value in it.

The exam is not solely Scrum topics. From the write up on the exam (see first link above), it states only approximately 15% of questions will relate to Scrum. The rest will be about software development practices. 

Does this help?

08:43 pm October 12, 2023

Hi,