Skip to main content

Starting from ground zero

Last post 01:06 am February 21, 2018 by Chris Belknap
4 replies
02:48 pm April 3, 2017

Hey all,

I am furthering my professional experience by getting a scrum/agile certification. I have a few questions. 

1) I only have an AA in business and I will have a scrum certification. I have 15 years experience with 2 fortune 500 companies in the area of travel & expense. What barriers would I be up against? (fyi 30 credits away from BA)

2) What would be the starting position from one entering the IT software dev industry with a scrum or agile certification?

3) I have seen MANY types of certifications, which one is recommended? I have seen PMI-ACP, CSM, ASM, CSA etc.  Note that want to just take the exam online or have it proctored, I do not want a seminar experience before certification.

4) Besides the scrum guide from this site, what are the best resources for a newbie to get knowledge and pass a PMI-ACP?

5) Since obtaining real life experience will be very difficult in my current company, where can I seek experience even if it is unpaid?

6)Anyone interested in becoming my mentor?

Thank you for your time!

Tracy

08:24 pm April 3, 2017

Welcome, Ms. Phillips! Let's begin with some questions to keep in mind.  What do you know about Agile and Scrum?  Why do you want to be certified?  What do you wish to accomplish?

There are many different certifications and paths to each.  Anyone can take the online certification exam here for the Professional Scrum Certifications (PSD, PSM, PSPO).  The others are offered by their respective backers.

A certification alone may not offer you much as far as career options.  Each company has its own needs, desires, and requirements.  Being effective usually requires experience (which a certification does not provide) and having a mentor can be helpful.