Skip to main content

Ineffective Scrum Team and High Expectations

Last post 08:39 pm February 26, 2024 by Chukwumazuru Bright Okereke
4 replies
07:18 am February 23, 2024

In my role as a project manager, I have been told to serve as the scrum master for the development team as well. (I can't call this a scrum team because a whole lot of things I learnt about scrum are not in place)

So, the CEO is also the PO but doesn't write out features and barely attends the scrum ceremonies. I am the one who writes the Jira tickets and still coordinate with the design team for design review. I also interface with other departments within the company.

I see this as a refining phase tbh, but my issue here is that the CEO wants me to plan two sprints worth of work ahead. This is so challenging to achieve because I don't focus solely on the development team. I'm also the one required to write PRDs and describe features to be built.

Please how can I achieve this?

05:13 pm February 23, 2024

What, exactly, do you want to achieve? You've identified several problems in the organization: a misunderstanding of Agile methods and Scrum, a disengaged Product Owner, the expectations that the Scrum Master does administrative work for the team, a command-and-control and plan-driven environment. There may be other problems or other ways of thinking about a problem. You can't solve all of them immediately, so what's the most impactful to the team's success?

05:34 pm February 23, 2024

In my role as a project manager, I have been told to serve as the scrum master for the development team as well

It might be as well to begin with this. Are you aware that, as a Scrum Master, your project management function comes to an end?

07:41 pm February 23, 2024