Skip to main content

Should I go for PSM or PSD as a developer?

Last post 08:42 pm May 16, 2017 by Seth Walken
4 replies
06:40 pm May 12, 2017

Hi there, 

I'm a developer and I want to get a certification from scrum.org, because I want to introduce Scrum in my company. I wonder which of both certifications (PSM and PSD) is more appropriate. Can I be a Scrum Master when I get a PSD certification? Apparently PSD is harder to get, but does this mean it has a certain reputation over PSM? Does it include PSM? Since I am developer now, my co-workers will ask me about implementing specific techniques if I try to implement Scrum.

Since I am not working in a Scrum team, I don't have any experience, but I am interested in Scrum for at least one year now and I read two books about scrum and some about XP, refactoring and clean code. I am also interested in quality assurance and automated processes. In fact I think I might work in QA in the future.

So I think of two ways:

1. Safe: PSM I first, higher chance of success and having "at least" a PSM, PSD later (safer but more expensive)

2. Risky: PSD, if I fail, I'll have to spent some money on getting a certificate. 

What do you think is best?

Best regards, 

Seth

05:45 pm May 14, 2017

Hi Seth,

I'm a software developer too. I was in your same place but five months before. I agree that PSD is harder and the only reason is that the PSD list of topics is the same as PSM-I plus questions related to TDD, ATDD, Continuous Integration, XP, Continuous Delivery, ... Check "Scrum Developer Open" for more information.

I highly recommend you to take PSM-I in first place. PSM will give you the foundations of Scrum framework. After passing PSM-I, chances of passing PSD on first attempt will be higher :-)

Best regards.

11:01 am May 15, 2017

Option 1 is ideal and you can still be part of Dev team while being a Scrum master for the team but tell me one thing why do you need certification before even starting with Scrum ?