Skip to main content

Passed the PSM I with 92.5%; My first attempt

Last post 09:13 pm July 5, 2017 by Pushap kamal
3 replies
11:37 am June 29, 2017

Hi All,

I have  passed the  PSM I assessment with 92.5% score at  my first attempt. First of all would like to thank all contributors of this forum for the valuable posts which really helped me a lot. I have more than 2 years experience as SCRUM Master (My role was changed overnight from Project Manager to Scrum Master when the management decided to make my project as pilot agile project in the organisation). We were trying our best to enact Scrum (or ScrumBut sometimes). My 2 cents for exam-prep....

1. Go through the Scrum guide 4-5 times.  Each time you will discover insights which you earlier  overlooked. Scrum guide is very concise hence require  a lot of attention and detailed reading. The sections on roles and responsibilities should be read with extra attention.

2. Take the Open Assessment till  you get 100% 3-4 times in a row, but don't  take it too many times as the questions do not vary much and you will end up remembering the answers.

3. I also undertook  a skillsoft online course as I had the subscription, It was quite interesting (Burndown/Burnup charts etc) but don't think it is required to pass the exam.

4. I also used apps for flash cards, but didn't find it of much use.

5. Took the  Mikhail Lapshin quiz 2-3 times, Really helpful in identifying the  sections of Scrum Guide you need to revise again.  (Came to know about this exam through this Forum. Thanks to all)

6. Will recommend that you go through the Forum discussions; Almost all the questions of the exam have been discussed in the forum (which you do not find in the Open Assessment).

7. The most valuable suggestion that I received from this forum was " Do Not Over Prepare".

8. Forgot to mention, take the PSPO I Open assessment to see things from different perspective.

Exam tips: