Skip to main content

Team training options

Last post 04:26 pm August 28, 2018 by Simon Mayer
5 replies
06:01 pm August 27, 2018

Curious to know if anyone had any suggestions for an informative/training video that I can share with my team, to gain their participation in transitioning to a Scrum team?

I work in a GIS Team within an Architecture and Engineering firm as a GIS Programmer and What I’m trying to do is motivate my team to make the change along with gain permission to attend trainings and become a certified Scrum Master. To achieve this, I need to educate my team on what Scrum is and why it is beneficial, within a one hour or so training session. I have some knowledge of Scrum through various books and websites, however, the validity of my opinion, I feel, will be viewed as bias and may not be held as equal to the thoughts and ideas of others.

Any ideas/suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

07:06 pm August 27, 2018

Have you had any conversations with your team already, about why you think Scrum is helpful? If so, what kind of response did you get?

07:17 pm August 27, 2018

Inquire about what issues/pain points your team is currently experiencing.   (Note: If they claim that everything is fine, they're simply not being honest).

You should then be able to point to Scrum ceremonies and practices to show how they can address and/or mitigate their issues.

In my opinion, meeting the team where they are, and showing them alternative ways of working that may make their lives better, is a more effective approach than subjecting the team to presentations on Scrum and how great it is.

11:13 am August 28, 2018

To answer all your questions;