Skip to main content

Who should take notes in the Daily Scrum Meeting process?

Last post 12:32 pm August 31, 2022 by Chuck Suscheck
9 replies
06:37 pm May 2, 2019

Hi, dear users of this marvelous forum! I'm new in the Agile, and if more specifically, in the Scrum. In our university we are now taking a short course of Scrum. Every lesson we emulate the process of DSM. Our group is divided into two teams. I have Scrum Master role in my team. And after each DSM we are listening feedback from our teacher. We haven't had much practical DSM. Okey, I will go to the question itself. After the first DSM I heard from the teacher that in our DSM nobody write notes from each member of our team. In the next DSM I decided to pick up a notebook and a pen, and record the short version of answer from each team member. After this DSM I heard from the teacher that now I was like a project manager! :D In the next DSM I decided not to write down answers from everyone at all. But in this case my team sad that it is not right way. And I got the feeling that the team believes that the Scrum Master should take notes during the meeting. Please tell me how to be right in this situation, whether is it necessary at all to fix the answers on some kind of media (paper / digital), and if necessary, from who from the team? Thank you in advance!

07:09 pm May 2, 2019

I forgot to add that our purpose of fixing answers during the DSM is not to forget about what was discussed, so that at any moment you can look at and remember what you planned to discuss / look at some tasks moments / etc.

06:33 pm May 3, 2019

our purpose of fixing answers during the DSM is not to forget about what was discussed, so that at any moment you can look at and remember what you planned to discuss / look at some tasks moments / etc.

Would that step be necessary if the team continued to collaborate throughout the working day?

06:51 pm May 3, 2019