Skip to main content

PSM2 Preparation for a non-Scrum Master experience

Last post 08:39 am May 15, 2019 by Vikas Mehrotra
5 replies
10:07 am May 9, 2019

Dear Scrum Gurus,

I need guidance for the preparation of PSM2. Your help is highly appreciated. 

Background - I have >14 years of experience as IT professional, and have been part of Scrum teams (mostly as QA) since 2009. Currently I am managing multiple projects as a service provider, again as QA Manager. I realized that my job is more that of a facilitator and guide than a manager, from QA perspective. All teams that report to me are part of scrum teams. 

I cleared PSM1 with 95% few months ago and after that I was interested in being an Agile Coach. I started reading books vehemently on related topics. Following are few of the books read:

The Nexus Framework for Scaling Scrum - 2x - will repeat.

Scrum: A Smart Travel Companion - 2x - will repeat.

Scrum Insights for Practitioners: The Scrum Guide Companion 

Scrum Mastery: From Good to Great Servant Leadership

The Great ScrumMaster: #ScrumMasterWay

Continuous Delivery: Reliable Software Releases through Build, Test, and Deployment Automation

Currently I am reading:

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable

Coaching Agile Teams

The Professional Product Owner: Leveraging Scrum as a Competitive Advantage

In line to read:

Servant Leadership: A Journey into the Nature of Legitimate Power and Greatness 

Creativity Inc. by Ed Catmull

User Stories Applied: For Agile Software Development by Mike Cohn

Product Mastery: From Good to Great Product Ownership by Jeff Sutherland

The DevOPS Handbook: How to Create World-Class Agility, Reliability, and Security in Technology Organizations by Gene Kim

Most of the books are part of suggested readings for PSM2 or PAL1.