Skip to main content

PO to Scrum Master?

Last post 04:16 pm January 22, 2020 by Daniel Wilhite
6 replies
07:44 pm January 21, 2020

Hey guys, hoping you can help.

I’ve been a PO for about 3 years and next month will be starting a job at a new company as Scrum Master. I’ve never done this before, and am a bit wary of their expectations...they don’t currently have a PO but I don’t want to do both jobs due to the inherent conflict.

I also don’t want to step on anyone’s toes.

Any tips? Has anyone done this transition before? What was your experience like? Cheers.

10:32 pm January 21, 2020

Why has your new company chosen to use Scrum, and is there commitment from those in leadership positions to be successful with it?

If your new company doesn't even have a Product Owner, do they consider that they're using Scrum?

I also don’t want to step on anyone’s toes.

It's very hard (perhaps impossible) to be a successful Scrum Master without stepping on toes. You will need to make things transparent, particularly when there are issues that people are not addressing. In doing so, you might threaten existing power structures within the organization.

Who is currently accountable for maximizing the value delivered by the team? Who is prioritizing the Product Backlog? In pointing out that a Product Owner is required for Scrum, you might tread on this person's (or these people's) toes.

03:11 am January 22, 2020

That's a tough choice. Though I've seen Product Owners temporarily step into the role of a Scrum Master, I haven't met one who switched permanently. On the other hand, I have seen Product Owners move into an Agile Coach role. 

Since you've been on a Scrum Team for a few years, know that you are there to support the Product Owner. You can coach them but don't offer to train or mentor (based on your experience) unless explicitly asked to do so.

04:54 am January 22, 2020