Skip to main content

Can I enter in scrum in mid career

Last post 08:28 am March 6, 2023 by Joseph Mack
5 replies
07:35 am February 11, 2023

Hello everyone,

I have all over 15 years’ experience in operations, including 13 years in healthcare operation. Currently I am working as "SR. QA analyst - Care management". I want to proceed my career to scrum. I know at first, I should get scrum master certification. My question is shall I shift my career to scrum now? as I have already spent half of my career.

Please advise.

12:07 pm February 11, 2023

I won't advise, but I will share my story.

I have been in technology related positions for the past few decades. I went to school for programming, and over the first 16 years or so spent time in testing, development, project management, product/service ownership, and leadership. After 5 years in leadership positions, about 17 years into my career I pivoted to pursue my passion and started my journey as a Scrum Master. I am 5 years into that Scrum Master journey and I love it.

My first exposure to Scrum was when I was managing a PMO and many of the Project Managers on my team wanted to take Scrum training as they we were being asked to support teams who were leveraging Scrum. I joined in on this training, starting first with an Agile Project Management class, followed by Certified Scrum Master. I was hooked. I started spending time with Scrum teams and Scrum Masters to learn from them. I went on to apply to a Scrum Master position, started working with product teams and was introduced to Scrum.org through a wonderful PST who was supporting us as an Agile Coach. I have continued my learning journey through Scrum.org learning paths.