Skip to main content

How does anything get fully completed on-time?

Last post 05:52 pm December 13, 2019 by Timothy Baffa
8 replies
11:11 pm December 11, 2019

I am new to Scrum and I ask the question in all seriousness. I am currently working on my second team that is organized in a Scrum format and neither of the teams I have worked on Scrum with have been able to accomplish things on a predetermined date. How does Scrum solve for a completed project on a specific date? The organization and work acceptance just seems really random.

I work in Advertising on web builds mostly and am not a Scrum master. 

Thank you for your input, I am trying to get my head wrapped around how Scrum finishes projects without spending $1500 for a professional training I do not want.

Luke

06:40 am December 12, 2019

neither of the teams I have worked on Scrum with have been able to accomplish things on a predetermined date

The only "predetermined date" you have in Scrum to finish something, is when the Sprint timebox runs out.

So, define a sprint length (i.e. 4 weeks) and you have a predetermined date (2 weeks from now) when some things are Done (namely, the product incrtement derived from the sprint goal)

How does Scrum solve for a completed project on a specific date?

It doesn't!! Scrum is a framework for incremental product development, not project management! If you want this, it may be much better to use an other (project management) approach!

I am trying to get my head wrapped around how Scrum finishes projects without spending $1500 for a professional training I do not want

I would argue it would be 1500 well spend, because I do think there are a lot of scrum fundamentals to be learned here. Going to and through the WHY of scrum

11:48 am December 12, 2019

Can you be more specific with your questions? Xander's response once on point.

How does Scrum solve for a completed project on a specific date? The organization and work acceptance just seems really random.